Tuesday, January 28, 2014

The Next Factor Wins Western Australian IRC Championship

At the end of the seven race series over four days, with one race abandoned and a one race drop, Dave Walling’s Farr 40 The Next Factor, with Peter Ahern as principal helmsman, won the Division 1 State IRC championship in convincing fashion with three wins and two second placings. Second was the Archambault 40 Hoodoo Man, sailed by Craig Carter, ahead of Peter Hickson’s Ker 39, ME II.
Photo: Bernie Kaaks
In Division 2, Harry Schmitz gave away very little in Team SAAB’s six point win. Discarding a third place, the boat carried just one second and four firsts.
Photo: Bernie Kaaks
The little Adams 10, The Addams Family was next, followed by Eric Gath’s, Farr MX Stimulus Package which sailed some good races but struggled to find consistency.
Photo: Bernie Kaaks
Hosted jointly by Royal Freshwater Bay and Royal Perth Yacht Clubs and run from Royal Perth’s Fremantle Annex, the regatta enjoyed good breezes on three of the four days, but a disappointing attendance of just 14 boats over two divisions will ensure that plenty of debate will follow regarding its future.


Division One:    
1. The Next Factor      David Walling          7
2. Hoodoo Man           Craig Carter            10
3. ME II                       Peter Hickson         12

Division Two:
1. Team SAAB            Harry Schmitz           6
2. Addams Family       Gomez Addams       12
3. Stimulus Package    Eric Gath                  17

Bernie Kaaks

No comments: