Tuesday, November 12, 2013

ANZAC Clean Sweep At 2013 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards

ISAF and Rolex are proud to announce that the winners of the 2013 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards are:

Male: Mathew Belcher (AUS)
Female: Jo Aleh & Polly Powrie (NZL)
Mathew Belcher Photo: Rolex/Kurt Arrigo
Having being nominated twice before in 2010 and 2012, it proved to be third time lucky for Mathew Belcher, the Australian Olympic and World champion in the 470 dinghy class, whose current winning streak stretches to an amazing 17 consecutive regattas.
Mathew Belcher and Victor Kovalenko  Photo: Rolex/Kurt Arrigo
“It’s a complete honour,” said Belcher during the awards ceremony held in Muscat, Sultanate of Oman. “It's great recognition for this year and the efforts we’ve put in and the results we’ve achieved. I am very fortunate to have great support, from my coach Victor Kovalenko, crew and support staff.”
Jo Aleh and Olivia Powrie Photo: Rolex/Kurt Arrigo
In the female category of the Awards 470 sailors were also rewarded. The New Zealand pairing of Jo Aleh and Olivia ‘Polly’ Powrie are the current women’s Olympic and World champions in the Class.
The Winners Photo: Rolex/Kurt Arrigo
“I’m a little bit shocked,” said Aleh. “There were some amazing nominees this year and we are delighted to be part of this. We feel honoured to be part of the group.”
 Photo: Rolex/Kurt Arrigo
"We haven’t done this alone and we had some wonderful people behind us who have been truly supportive,” added Powrie.

Regatta News

No comments: