Sunday, June 10, 2012

Chew Crowned 2012 ADCO Etchells Australasian Winter Champion

Despite the soggy conditions nothing could dampen the spirits  of Matthew Chew and his crew Ashley Deeks, Brian Donavan and Paul Wyatt onboard Gen XY who took out the 2012 ADCO Etchells Australasian Winter Champions at Mooloolaba, Queensland this afternoon.
Gen XY  Photo: Mike Kenyon
For the first time season skipper  and overnight leader it was an awesome result despite finishing in 16th place in today's only race which he was able to drop.
Gen XY Photo: ADCO Etchells Australasian Winter Media
"I'm stoked with our result as up until today we sailed consistently. Being a new crew it's an even sweeter victory as we have had to gel pretty quickly. After an average Worlds and Nationals earlier in the year its a great reward for the effort we have put in. Paul Wyatt and I have now won all three of these important Etchell regattas," Chew said.

Racing got underway today under cloudy rainy skies in 10-12 knots of pressure and lumpy seas. 
Photo: ADCO Etchells Australasian Winter Media
Race Five saw Mark Thornburrow get a clean start at the pin end of the line while series leader Matthew Chew and fellow podium contender Peter McNeill (Iris 11) found themselves buried deep in the fleet. Current Etchells World Champion Tom King (Iron Lotus) started eighth up from the pin but fell back into the second row. 
Racer X Photo: Mike Kenyon
Dirk Van Der Struyf (Animal House) rounded the top mark ahead of David Rose (This Will Make Her Scream) followed by Michael Stovin-Bradford (Touch Pause Engage), Roger Hickman (Sun Tzu), Mark Sanders (Rebound), Glenn Norton (Walk on Water) and Mark Johnson (Roulette), while Olympian Colin Beashel (North Star) finished in ninth and Taylor back in tenth.

Meanwhile Chew and Thornburrow both suffered in the shifty winds and found themselves trailing among the dispersed fleet. 
Magpie Photo: ADCO Etchells Australasian Winter Media
Van Der Struyf led around the top mark for the second time followed by Johnson, who ticked off fives places by challenging hard to be in second. Hickman and Mark Bulka (Perfect Balance), Christopher Hampton (Tango 1990) and Colin Beashel (North Star) all made good gains while David Rose dropped further back. 
Animal House Photo: ADCO Etchells Australasian Winter Media
Van Der Struyf (Animal House) got the bullet followed by Mark Johnson (Roulette) and Roger Hickman (Sun Tzu) finished third, his best result of the regatta. Mark Bulka (Perfect Balance) claimed fourth followed by Tom King (Iron Lotus), Graeme Taylor (Magpie), Colin Beashel (North Star), Christopher Hampton (North Star), Mark Thornburrow (Racer X) and David Rose (This Will Make Her Scream).

Unfortunately the breeze died further and with the shifty, unstable winds making it impossible to set a course, the Race Committee were forced to abandon racing for the the rest of the day. 

Lulu Roseman

117Matthew Chew, Ashley Deeks, Brian Donavan & Paul WyattBrisbane4142(16)11
211Mark Thornburrow, Simon Cooke, Sam Sakai & Bucky SmithHong Kong6421(9)13
333Graeme Taylor, Steve Jarvin & Ben Morrison-JackMornington1(10)18717
427Mark Bulka, James Arnold & Steve YoungMelbourne239(11)418
510Tom King, David Edwards, Ivan Wheen & Owen McMahonSydney385(9)521
602Mark Johnson, Christian Brook & Nikolas BurfootSydney95(40\DNF)6222
720Peter McNeill, Simon Reffold & David GleadhillLake Macquarie8933(17)23
812Colin Beashel, Richard Allanson & Garry GudmunsonSydney52(14)13626
906Christopher Hampton, Matthew Johns & Sam HainesMelbourne(17)675826
1024Jeanne-Claude Strong, Tiana Wittey, Neville Wittey & Marcus BurkeSydney776(24)1232
1109David Clark, John Collingwood & Andrew SmithMelbourne1417114(27)46
1215Ross Lloyd, Matthew Turner & Peter WilliamsMelbourne11121312(25)48
1305Dirk Van Der Struyf, Graeme Johnson & Richard RowellSwan River(25)142115151
1403Roger Hickman, Kate Besley, Daniel Williams & Daniel MorrowSydney13(21)1520351
1534Jake Gunther, Tony McPhail & Stuart SkeggsMelbourne1218167(19)53
1616Philip Coombs, Stuart Schafer & David EickmeyerMelbourne1513819(24)55
1721Dean Blatchford, Greg Torpy & Keith JensenLake Macquarie2020(24)101464
1829David Turton, David Biggar & Shayne FarnellMooloolaba(31)1610281367
1922David Rose, Josh Torpy & Edward CowanBrisbane(40\DNF)2412231069
2023Graeme Alexander, Errol Candy & Chris JacksonMornimgton21112018(23)70
2113John Warlow, Craig Alcock & Bradley GinnivenBrisbane(26)1919142274
2237James Chilman, Stephen Girdis & Gary Van LunterenBrisbane10222226(32)80
2328Noel Paterson, Sarah Board, Mark Buchbach & Hamish CrossanBrisbane1823(25)251581
2439Gary Smith, Michael McAullay & Andrew McAullaySwan River161526(40\DNF)2683
2535Mark Sanders, James Howarth & Scott McInallyGold Coast192629(40\DNF)1185
2601Michael Stovin-Bradford, Andrew Gordon & Keith ShortSydney(30)2518292193
2708David Healey, James Hallam, Timothy Robba & Jennifer SkeahanBrisbane27(30)17222995
2804Peter Coleman, Iain Gartley & Wayne DixonMelbourne28272317(30)95
2925Trevor Martin, Paul Braithwaite & Darrell CivicMooloolaba22(31)30271897
3031Paul Minter, Glen Thomson & John MinterCronulla24(33)272128100
3114Ian Anderson, Joshua Willis & Robin BraenderSwan River23293316(40\DNS)101
3218Jack Ellis, David Buckland & Luke CableMelbourne33343132(40\DNS)130
3336Grant Chipperfield, Fenge Shave & Ross WadeMelbourne(40\DNF)40\DNC283033131
3430Gregory Forgan-Smith, Bruce Pitt, Ludvig Bengtsson & Stuart LorimerGold Coast322832(40\DNC)40\DNS132
3538Hayes Michael, James Dagge & Liam HayesBrisbane3536(37)3131133
3619Glenn Norton, Brett Heath, Peter Rattray & Richard HodgsonMelbourne(40\DNF)40\DNC3640\DNF20136
3726Todd Trevillion, Roger Gain & David RitchardSydney2932(40\DNF)40\DNF40\DNS141
3832Stephen Toms, David Smith & Patrick LargierBrisbane343534(40\DNF)40\DNS143
3907Mal Blom, Toby Abbot & Iain DavidsonMelbourne(40\DNF)40\DNC3540\DNF34149

No comments: