Saturday, August 6, 2011

Bribón Crowned Copa del Rey Winner In Palma

Palma de Mallorca, August 6

José Cusí's Bribón has won the 30th Copa del Rey Audi Mapfre in her farewell to the Majorcan regatta, eleven editions after her last victory in 2000. Jason Carroll's Argo takes the first American victory ever, Jose María van der Ploeg's Factorenergia clinches the trophy in the J-80 division, and Earlybird does so in IRC B.
Photo: Nico Martinez/ Copa del Rey Audi Mapfre
Bribón, Earlybird, Factorenergía, Argo, Hotelplan, Rats on Fire and Power Plate are the new Copa del Rey Audi Mapfre winners after the two final races were held today in all classes.

José Cusí's Bribón's farewell to the Copa del Rey Audi Mapfre couldn't have been sweeter: with a 4,5 points advantage over second classified Container, the TP52 steered by Galicia born sailor Gonzalo Araújo won the 30th Copa del Rey Audi Mapfre eleven years after her last race dated 2000.
Photo: Nico Martinez/ Copa del Rey Audi Mapfre
After composing a nice scoring of three wins and five second places in ten races during the week, Bribón needed only four points to win the regatta. Gonzalo Araújo didn't take any risks and controlled his main rival Udo Schütz's Container from start to finish.
Photo: Fito Carreto/Copa del Rey Audi Mapfre
The Spanish boat managed to cross the finish line in third position, what gave her the victory in Cusí's 30th and last participation in the Copa del Rey Audi Mapfre. This was also Gonzalo Araújo's first win in the regatta, an event he had already attended with different IMS 600 projects. Markus Wieser's Container remained second, a result which made the German Dragon ace very happy. "The boat is better in strong winds, whereas these were Bribón's conditions," Wieser said. Container returned to the dock with a flag flying from her forestay that read, “Bribón forever”, as a tribute to what Wieser described as the “most important Spanish sailing boat ever”.

The closing day delivered exciting and tight racing in the IRC B fleet, after German flagged Emma challenged first placed Earlybird, which came into the last day just one point ahead, throughout the whole track, but Hendrik Brandis managed to finish third whereas Emma finished sixth. The same fight went on in race two, but Earlybird won the game again crossing ahead of Johann Killinger's Swan 60.
Photo: Nico Martinez/ Copa del Rey Audi Mapfre
With just two races to go, it was tight in the J-80 fleet, for the three first boats where just three points apart. Nextel Engineering lead after ten races, tied in points with Factorenergía – Great Sailing Quum of Olympic sailor Jose María van der Ploeg, followed by Javier Aguado's Crocs. In the first race the two class leaders challenged each other in the middle of the race course but the first tack by Camino to the right hand side saw her title gone. In a low pressure, she was buried in the pack, with Factorenergia – Great Sailing Quum sitting on the top and maintaining that position till the finish. Van der Ploeg came into the last race with a six point buffer, and didn't take any risks in the second, finishing fourth, enough to clinch his second Copa del Rey after being victorious in 2007.
Photo: Nico Martinez/ Copa del Rey Audi Mapfre
In the Melges 32 class, Jason Carroll's Argo's advantage over Kilroy's Samba Pa Ti went down three points after race one of the closing day, but her win in race two makes her the first ever American boat to win in the Copa del Rey Audi Mapfre. Vascotto was second, and Italian Torpyone third.

The last two races of the brought no changes to yesterday's X-35 podium, and Andrea Ferrari's Hotelplan held on to the lead, followed by German Ingo Dietrich's X on the Beach. Javier Banderas and Luís Doreste's Iberostar was the best Spanish result in the class with a third.

Rafael Carbonell's Rats on Fire reigned today in RI 1, with a well deserved victory  after today's two bullets, and nine wins in a total of twelve races. Manu Weiller's Cuadernos Rubio finished runner up and Swan 45 Swanderfull of Giacomo and Miscioscia was third.

Pedro Campos Movistar will have to wait for next year's event after some costly mistakes and only a sixth and a ninth place, therefore handing the victory to Gustavo Martínez Doreste's Power Plate, which scored a third and second in the last race to claim her first Copa del Rey.

Prizes were presented by TRH The King of Spain in the Ses Voltes gardens that surround the Cathedral of Palma.

Copa del Rey Audi Mapfre Media

No comments: