Sunday, May 29, 2011

Winners Are Grinners - Artemis Take Turkey

It was a jubilant Terry Hutchinson who stepped onto the podium with his Team Artemis crew to claim Act 3 of the Extreme Sailing Series in Istanbul today.
Photo: © Lloyd Images
It was an incredible finish going into the final race worth double points with three teams in contention for the win: Artemis Racing, Emirates Team New Zealand and Groupe Edmond de Rothschild.

ETNZ's Dean Barker was under the pump but held his nerve to lead the Kiwis to a convincing race win however it wasn't enough and Artemis Racing moved into third place on the final gybe of the final downwind leg to win Act 3 by just one point. 
Photo: © Lloyd Images
“We knew around the last lap that we had one opportunity and we needed to pass one boat to win the regatta and we passed one boat. I jumped up to the first spreader when I heard Seb say that we had won the regatta,” said an ecstatic Terry Hutchinson. 

“I can’t say enough about how great the guys are on the job. I’m over the top about how we sailed and how we handled ourselves on the boat in really tough conditions. I hate losing with an absolute passion but these moments make it all worth it.” 

Ten races were staged today with Emirates Team New Zealand keeping their grip at the top of the overall rankings while Artemis Racing and Groupe Edmond de Rothschild fought hard to stay in the game. The tables turned in the eighth race when Artemis Racing grabbed the overall lead but they nearly lost it in that last race. 

The Wave, Muscat with the youngest helmsman on the circuit, Australian Torvar Mirsky, battled it out with Luna Rossa to place fourth.

Extreme Sailing Series Act 3 Istanbul
Current overall standings after Day 5 (29.5.11)

Position / Team / Skipper & crew / Points

1st Artemis Racing (SWE), Terry Hutchinson / Rodney Ardern / Morgan Trubovich / Julien Cressant 307 points
2nd Emirates Team New Zealand (NZL), Dean Barker / Glenn Ashby / James Dagg / Jeremy Lomas 306 points
3rd Groupe Edmond de Rothschild (FRA), Pierre Pennec / Christophe Espagnon / Thierry Fouchier / Hervé Cunningham 296 points
4th The Wave, Muscat (OMA), Torvar Mirsky / Kyle Langford / Nick Hutton / Khamis Al Anbouri 274 points
5th Luna Rossa (ITA), Max Sirena / Paul Campbell-James / Alister Richardson / Manuel Modena 272 points
6th Red Bull Extreme Sailing (AUT), Roman Hagara / Hans Peter Steinacher / Will Howden / Craig Monk 254 points
7th Alinghi (SUI), Tanguy Cariou / Yann Guichard / Nils Frei / Yves Detrey 245 points (ahead on countback)
8th Oman Air (OMA), Sidney Gavignet / Kinley Fowler / David Carr / Nasser Al Mashari 245 points
9th Team GAC Pindar (GBR), Ian Williams / Mark Ivey / Mischa Heemskerk / Jono Macbeth 237 points
10th Niceforyou (ITA), Alberto Barovier / Mark Bulkeley / Daniele de Luca Simone de Mari 212 points
11th Team Extreme (EUR), Roland Gaebler / Bruno Dubois / Sebbe Godefroid / Nicholas Heintz 188 points

Lulu Roseman

No comments: